My Go-To Songs For When I Need Writing Inspiration

My go-to songs

Sometimes I feel a little lost when it comes to my writing. I sit down and look at the blank page and nothing comes out. That’s when I put on music. I have a go-to list of songs that always, no matter what, puts me in the mood to write. Here are a few of them:

“Finishing the Hat” from Sunday in the Park with George – This is a song that is literally about writing. The creative process isn’t easy, and this song makes me feel better about it. Plus, with the melodious pipes of Mandy Patinkin (or the recent Jake Gyllenhaal), it’s soothing for the soul.

“Aeon” by Nick Murray – Fun fact: I discovered this song through a movie trailer. I find my best songs through movie trailers, I find. They bring up emotions easily. I love the slow build to this song. I listen to it on repeat sometimes, letting it help me imagine my story building and building. It never fails to get me in the mood.

“Go Your Own Way” by Fleetwood Mac (or many covers) – I love this song. I love the original, I love all the cover versions in my iTunes. I love it. It’s one of those songs that I can’t describe why I love it, I just do. And the thing is, depending on which version I listen to, it evokes different moods. I can find a soft version when I need a quiet scene and the original for just about everything else!

Leave a comment